Skip to main Content
Site Search

Advanced Search

  • Mondo Visione
  • Mondo Visione - Worldwide Exchange Intelligence
Member Login

Member Login

Forgotten your password?

NYSE Nominates 12 For Election To Board Of Directors

Date 21/03/2003

The 2003 nominating committee of the New York Stock Exchange has named six new candidates for election and six current directors for re-election to the Exchange's board of directors.

The board consists of 12 public members, 12 industry members, NYSE chairman and CEO Dick Grasso, and NYSE Presidents, Co-Chief Operating Officers and Executive Vice Chairmen Catherine Kinney and Robert Britz. The Exchange's membership will vote on the nominations on June 5.

Six New Candidates Nominated

The new candidates for public representatives are Herbert M. Allison, Jr., chairman, president and CEO of the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association and College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF); Andrea Jung, chairman and CEO of Avon Products, Inc.; and Sanford I. Weill, chairman and CEO of Citigroup Inc.

The new candidates for securities industry representatives are Todd J. Christie, senior managing director and CEO of Spear, Leeds & Kellogg Specialists, LLC; E. Stanley O'Neal, CEO of Merrill, Lynch & Co., Inc.; and Philip J. Purcell, chairman and CEO of Morgan Stanley.

Three Public Directors Nominated for Re-election

The nominating committee proposed three current public representatives for re-election:

  • Mel Karmazin, president and COO of Viacom Inc.;
  • H. Carl McCall, vice chairman of HealthPoint;
  • Larry W. Sonsini, chairman and CEO of Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati.

Three Securities Industry Directors Nominated for Re-election

The nominating committee proposed three current securities industry representatives for re-election:

  • George C. McNamee, chairman of First Albany Companies Inc.;
  • Henry M. Paulson, Jr., chairman and CEO of The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.;
  • Christopher C. Quick, CEO of Fleet Specialist, Inc.

Role of Nominating Committee

The nominating committee is composed of representatives of the securities industry and the public. The nominating committee is independent of the NYSE board of directors. The nominations of the committee are not approved by the board before being submitted to the membership for voting.

The NYSE Constitution directs the committee to propose nominees who are committed to serving the interests of the public and strengthening the NYSE as a public securities market. Directors are elected at the annual meeting of NYSE members, held each year on the first Thursday in June.